Camp Nanowrimo Project — day 2

Finished out the day with 18,110 words, once again all in Amberspun Spiderwebs. It’s not quite as many as I was hoping for, but it’s certainly respectable, especially for the 2nd. I had a hard time getting started this morning, but once I got myself in gear it went fairly easily. 15k was hard to cross, because it’s such a nice round number, but I powered through and kept going.

I ended up spending quite a bit of time developing a country that I never thought I would use more than briefly. But my characters were caught trespassing and taken to the local law enforcement office, so naturally I had to pause and figure out what that law enforcement office would be. This lead me down the worldbuilding path and at the end of it all I had the beginnings of a functional government and class system for this country. I never intended to actually use any of this information, but now I’m considering changing the timeline and keeping my main characters there for longer than a couple weeks, so I may end up using those details after all (and creating many more along the way). I know we’re told not to edit during nanowrimo, but I would rather take the time to edit now when the changes would only effect a chapter and a half, than do it later when I’d have to change the other 12. I haven’t yet decided whether or not to actually do this, so I’m going to sleep on it and look at the story again in the morning.

In other exciting news I have finally introduced a third named character. Yes, for nearly 17,000 words it was just my two boys interacting with a couple nameless side characters occasionally. To be fair, my viewpoint character did spent quite a bit of that time either sleeping or nearly dying of pneumonia, so he had an excuse for not being particularly social. I expect my other MMC met several people and learned their names, but we don’t get to be in his head so we’ll never know.

I realized as I took my worldbuilding break today that this story really is writing itself. Part of the reason why I like nano events so much is that they do let me take the backseat to the story out of necessity, but this story is going even more smoothly than past nano novels. Partly I suspect it’s because this story has actually existed in my head for several months and so I’ve had time to figure out the major plot holes and find ways around them. So it’s mostly smooth writing, which means that I can sit back and let the story happen as it will. But it also means that it was a good story idea. Part of the way I tell if an idea is any good or not is by seeing how easy it is to write. Last November I started a romance novel about a human and a fae, set against a backdrop of a series of grizzly murders. The concept was fine, but writing the story was somewhat akin to pulling teeth. I didn’t get more than 10,000 words or so and will not be returning to it, at least not in that form. The idea may be recycled into something else, but that version of the story is finished. I write for fun, and I don’t see the point in continuing when it consistently stops being fun.  But Amberspun Spiderwebs is definitely fun and it’s definitely not hard. I know I’ll hit walls sooner or later — it’s happened with every other project and it’s bound to happen with this one — but the ease with which I came up with these first 18,000 words is definitely a good sign. I have a good feeling about this one, I really do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

